WA - Mackenzie Cowell, 17, Wenatchee, 9 Feb 2010 - #8

Status
Not open for further replies.
FACT: FBI visited Lowes.
I believe this was March 2. I know it was a Tuesday.

When I was told the type of tools it wasn't like chainsaws and hammers, I believe they were referred to as sheetrocking tools. Do they use some kind of special knives? Similar to box cutters?? I wasn't familiar with what was mentioned. Maybe if I saw one but not off the top of my head.

Jab saw. Used by dry wallers. Looks like a scary kitchen knife.
images

I put a better link a few posts down...

If she was stabbed after she stopped struggling, I don’t know if they would be able to tell if she was still alive, passed out, or dead.

Good point. I'm not an expert either, but I would think that there would be differences in the wound and blood flow/spatter after the heart stopped pumping, so that the coroner would be able to see differences between pre and post mortem injuries. Also, even if she were uncounscious but still alive, I would imagine there would still be a lot of blood.

Some quotes that stick out to me confirming a POI(s):

"On the other hand, if we get some forensic information back or someone gives us the right information, it could close very quickly.”

"We might be able to assume who committed this crime, but to ever be able to make an arrest, we don’t know.”

"I guess I’m optimistic. I feel it will be solved, maybe not in the near future, but in the reasonable future. ... I can’t be specific.”

“We’re still waiting for most of the crime lab results. I doubt we will release crime lab results either, until we have a suspect in custody.”

“To date, we’ve done at least eight polygraph exams of which the names and results will remain confidential at this time to maintain the integrity of the ongoing investigation.”

The task force remains at nine full-time detectives, Jones said, and there has been no talk of scaling back anytime soon.