Found Deceased IA - Mollie Tibbetts, 20, Poweshiek County, 19 Jul 2018 *Arrest* #38

Welcome to Websleuths!
Click to learn how to make a missing person's thread

DNA Solves
DNA Solves
DNA Solves
Status
Not open for further replies.
Not saying he's bright, just that I would THINK he would know enough about phones to not leave a trail. I'm not technical at all ( except for what I have learned from everyone on here now) but even before I ever had a cell, I knew it could be tracked. It just doesn't make sense that he would leave either phone turned on. Not to me, anyway.
I wouldn’t either. How else though do you explain the ping near the pig farm?

Last edited:
I agree because we also have an agent asking Mollie's mom if she knew if Mollie was "in a house at 9:30 pm". I would guess CR took Mollie's iphone with him when he left the corn field.

I wonder if pings show serial #s - if he replaced her sim card and used the phone later.
Do some iPhones have SIM cards? Mine doesn’t. I think Mollie had an iPhone if I’m not mistaken.

The three main things I can think of besides the fitbit are: a witness saw him alone at 8:28pm, he's on video somewhere at 8:28pm, or he used a credit card at 8:28pm. We don't know much about the crime yet. If he had a change of clothes in the trunk, he could have changed his clothes at the scene of the crime and walked into Casey's at 8:28pm for a slice of pizza. He could have washed his car and swiped his card at the car wash at 8:28pm. We don't really know.

I lean away from the Fitbit because if LE had strong evidence that she died by 8:28pm I don't know that they would say repeatedly over the 3 weeks that they believe she's alive. That is very traumatic for the family. In other cases, LE will say we have reason to believe [the missing person] has been harmed, or is no longer alive. I believe they made statements like that throughout the search for Yingying Zhang.